Text Box:

Award Winners

Text Box: Newbery Medal Winner  2016

Last Stop on Market Street
By Matt de la Pena
A young boy rides the bus across town with his grandmother and learns to appreciate the beauty in everyday things.  
Text Box: Caldecott Medal 2016

Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear
Illustrated by Sophie Blackwell                   Written by Lindsay Mattick
A picture book adaptation of the story of the real bear who inspired Winnie-the-Pooh describes how the author's great-grandfather, a veterinarian from Winnipeg, rescued a bear cub and took her with him to an English army base during World War I.  
Text Box: Michael Printz Award  2016

Bone Gap
By Laura Ruby
Knowing that his sister has been kidnapped by a dangerous assailant and that she did not abandon the family like their mother did years earlier, Finn confronts town secrets to organize a search. 
Text Box: Coretta Scott King Award 2016

Gone Crazy in Alabama
By Rita Williams-Garcia
This is the story of the Gaither sisters as they travel from the streets of Brooklyn to the rural South for the summer of a lifetime. 
Text Box: Robert Silbert Informational Award 2016 

Funny Bones: Posada and his Day of the Dead Calaveras
By Duncan Tonatiuh
A portrait of the Mexican political cartoonist best known for his calavera animated skeleton depictions traces his life and artistic career while describing how his skeleton drawings have become synonymous with Mexico's Día de los Muertos festival.  
Text Box: The John Newbery Award: The award is given to the author of "the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children."
The Michael L. Printz Award: An American Library Association literary award that annually recognizes the "best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit". 
The Randolph Caldecott Medal is given to  “the most distinguished picture book for children.”
The Coretta Scott King Award recognizes “an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults. “ 
The Robert Silvert Informational Award  is given to the “most distinguished informational book for children.”
Click on cover to order on-line!